Some Recent Games, Apps and Theatre

So I recently got an iPhone after years of quite an old Windows Phone which had trouble downloading any apps. I’m now exposed to the massive world of mobile gaming and new, interesting apps. So I thought I’d put together a quick rundown of some of the games, apps and theatre I’ve been playing/watching recently:

PlantsVsZombies2Plants vs Zombies 2
Available for Android and iPhone.

What they say:
“Play the sequel to the hit action-strategy adventure with over 30 Game of the Year awards. Meet, greet and defeat legions of zombies from the dawn of time to the end of days. Amass an army of powerful plants, supercharge them with Plant Food and power up your defences with amazing ways to protect your brain. ”

How I Found it:
I’m getting really addicted to this game, really enjoying it. I think they ramp up the difficulty and ease off at just the right pace so it’s an easy one to get addicted to. I’ve done 3 worlds so far, Ancient Egypt, Pirate Seas and Wild West and they’ve all been good fun. It’s free – I say you should download it!

 

Karen by Blast Theory Karen
Available for iPhone

What they say:
“Karen is a life coach and she’s happy to help you work through a few things in your life.

When you begin, she asks you some questions about your outlook on the world to get an understanding of you. In fact, her questions are drawn from psychological profiling questionnaires. She – and the software – are profiling you and she gives you advice based on your answers

Karen mixes gaming with storytelling to give you a personalised experience. Play to the end and you can buy a report on your own data, showing how the science of profiling has been applied to you.”

How I Found it:
This is a bit of fun, though it hasn’t quite packed the full punch I want it to, but I’ll reserve full judgement to the end. I’ve been quite mischievous with the options they are giving me, constantly lying and purposefully contradicting myself. I think my report/profile might come out a bit weird. You have to keep coming back to this app over a series of days which is kind of annoying but I suppose it has a certain charm. Overall I’m enjoying this quite a bit – again this is free app so why not download it?

riotpaniclabR.I.O.T. by PanicLab
1 May – Stratford Circus
27 May – The Place

What they say:
“In a world of blockbuster adaptations and endless reboots, four performers dream of being awesome.   Playing superheroes, they are caught in a series of conflicts which are both personal, and intricately political.

The ultimate battle between good and evil becomes a struggle for identity and representation, in a story they didn’t choose.

Spiced with comic book and action hero references, the epic adventure unfolds through action-packed choreography and projected illustrations.

Four people stand in an empty frame, confident and poised, ready to prove that they are worthy of joining a pantheon of super-powered heroes and villains.”

How I Found it:
Really enjoyed this show, I loved the comic book references and the way they played with the usual Hero narrative. The choreography was good, and I particularly liked the scene based on Street Fighter. At times I did feel like some of the performers showed a bit of hesitancy in their moves but there was also some amazing moments too. The projection/animation was well done and the sound design was smashing. It was a well a put together show and if they can up the performance a notch this would be really great production.

Sim City Build It simcitybuildit
Available for iPhone and Android.

What they say:
Welcome Mayor!

We’re glad to have you on board. Your first order of business – build your own gorgeous city that has citizens vying to move in. The larger your city gets, the more needs your citizens have. Solve challenges and add Services to keep them happy and your city thriving.”

 

How I found it:
I was well up for this game as I used to love Sim City about 10 years ago – played it all the time. I made cities called Megatown and Pooptown and they were wicked. I’d start Alien Invasions and hurricanes just for the fun of it. This mobile version I haven’t really got into though, I can’t be bothered to do the early stages, I just want to plan a massive city and start at the top. I’ll persevere and hopefully get somewhere but for now, I hardly ever play.

 

Post by Oli Back


If you like our blog why not check out our website at blockstop.co.uk, if you’re interested in gaming, theatre or both, check out our events and sign up to our mailing list for the latest info!

Block Stop – Creators of Live Video Games
Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Web

